Follow Up

DSC_5755It is hard to believe it has been one week since we departed Ukraine and headed home. By now most of us are over the jet lag and are back into our daily routines of work, family, & church.

The work continues however in Ukraine. Please pray for the churches in the cities where we sang. They are the ones who will follow up with each card that was turned in. It is a huge task. Pray that the Ukrainian believers will find people receptive and open to taking the next steps of faith. Pray that all these that made a decision will get plugged into a local church.

As an example of the work ahead I would like to share this story from Jan Gott. She emailed me earlier this week and I asked if we could share it here.

I took one of the NO decision cards in Zhitomir to follow-up myself. We have a course there this summer, and I just felt “strangely led” – have never done that before. The girl – Irina – had written a note in English that said, “I’m just so tired in my heart, but you all came and brought hope.” So – I knew that this person spoke English. She had given her cell number for the contact information. On Monday before we flew out – I called Irina. I explained that I read her card and wanted to connect with her. I invited her to our course in July at Christmas church and said I had saved her number in my phone and would call her again. Then she explained that she is a refugee from Donetsk. Her husband was killed last winter, and that life is very difficult for her now. She has just started attending Christmas church with a friend, and that is how she knew about our concert. I will be with Irina again this summer, and I believe that her NO will become a YES for Christ. I just wonder how many more there are like Irina in our decision cards?? God is faithful, and He knows. I have now sent Irina’s information to Ksusha. There is a weekly English course at Christmas Church for our students, so I will make sure that Irina has an invitation to that course, too.

Pray for all the Irina’s, those that attended our concerts but did not indicate a decision for Christ. Pray for all those 7,793 people who did put a check as an indication of a decision for Christ. Pray that God’s people in Ukraine will reach out to these and that they will become strong followers of Christ.

Once again, thank you for your prayer support during our mission. From time to time we will post things here as matters of information on the Singing Men and our future trips. This site will remain up and active so visit it anytime. You might even find encouragement in scrolling way to the first posts that tell of our previous trips to Ukraine.

7 thoughts on “Follow Up

  1. Thank you for much for this encouraging email. I am continuing to pray for all the Irina’s of Ukraine. I will pray for strength for all those who minister. May God’s Kingdom grow daily. May these folks get the discipleship they need to continue to have hope in Jesus Christ, Our Lord and Savior.

  2. Thank you so much for being able to e-mail. I will be praying for Irina’s of Ukraine I will continue to Pray for all Ukraine to continue to have hope for Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior

  3. Thank you so much for your seeming endless energy and dedication to SMOT and our extended mission to Ukraine! I will also be praying for Irina and please let her know that we are hoping the very best for her!
    Many people have commented on ho thrilled they were to almost be with us, because you consistently kept them informed and inspired! They wanted me to thank you so much!

  4. Thank you for making this trip, and making me feel I was a small part of it as well through emails and all the prayers that came your way. Praying daily for these wonderful peoples.

  5. Again, many thanks for the way you have kept us informed about how God used you and answered our prayers in Ukraine…it was the next best thing to being there! We’re looking forward to the concert next week. See you then

    Charles and Gloria Mayo

  6. For I am confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus. Phil 1:6
    …and so HE will! Thank you, all, for being willing to begin the work that God will perfect/complete/finish for HIS glory!

  7. I am so encouraged to hear what the Lord is doing in Ukraine through your ministry of the Singing Men of Texas. I will also be praying for those dear people–especially this dear widow Irina. My husband and I love and miss Ukraine so much. We are praying to return as soon as God allows. God bless your family, your church and your ministry. Thank you so much for bringing the gospel to them as well as the joy.
    Glen and Eve Williamson

Comments are closed.